Service. For your wellbeing.

We know that you already have enough to think about: are you worried? concerned? Would you like to find out a lot more from us?

Don't worry - with us you are not alone - neither before, during or after the treatment itself. We are not in the business of "wellness" - instead we are a high-performance medical establishment not only providing specialist medical care but also particularly concerned with your wellbeing. With us there is no waiting. We do not perform acute treatment, and furthermore the course of individual treatments can be predicted reliably, which means that we can arrange appointments very precisely. So nobody has to wait.

Below you will find information and answers to frequently asked questions regarding treatment, procedure and many more. We are here to personally answer any further questions you may have.

 

Questions/Answers (FAQ)

What does treatment cost?

For patients who are covered by private medical insurance, the costs of the radiosurgical treatment are calculated according to the “schedule of medical fees” (officially called the Gebührenordnung für Ärzte, GOÄ) and reimbursed by private health insurance companies on this basis.

For patients with statutory medical insurance (known as GKV in Germany), a contract has been concluded between the Gamma Knife Krefeld Centre and the insurer DAK (Deutsche Angestellten - Krankenkasse) for integrated patient care, under which persons insured with the DAK are now the first group of patients with statutory health insurance in Germany with the option of Gamma Knife radiosurgery if they need it, without having to go through time-consuming application procedures. The health insurer TK (Techniker Krankenkasse) has also signed up to this contract, which means that Gamma Knife radiosurgery is now available to their customers should they need it. A selective agreement has been in place with the AOK Rheinland-Hamburg (Federal Association of Local Health Insurance Funds), the Schwenninger BKK and the Actimonda Krankenkasse such that applications no longer have to be submitted for individual services.

Unfortunately, persons insured with other statutory health insurers in Germany are still not entitled to have the costs of out-patient treatment reimbursed. Although radiosurgery has been used successfully in Germany since 1994 and around the world since the 1970s, so far it has not been added to the catalogue of medical benefits available under the statutory insurance system. Therefore patients still have to apply in advance to their health insurance company to have the costs of out-patient radiosurgical treatment covered. In recent years the health insurers have agreed to cover the costs in thousands of individual cases.

We can help you to apply for your health insurance to over the costs of treatment. Following the consultation and determination of the indications, we will give you a doctor’s letter and a cost estimate. You then submit this documentation to your health insurer. As soon as you receive written confirmation from the insurance company, you contact us again to make an appointment for treatment. Should your application be rejected, we recommend that you still contact us so that we can discuss how to proceed.

Can treatment be carried out as an in-patient procedure?

If it is medically necessary, it is possible for the patient to be admitted to hospital for treatment as an in-patient. There are beds available for us in the neurosurgical department of the Helios hospital in Krefeld.

What are the most common side-effects?

Side-effects are very rare and depend very much on the individual disease, the localisation of the diseased tissue and the necessary dose of radiation. For this reason it is not possible to give a general answer. Of course the preparatory consultation will go into detail about possible side-effects in the individual.

How long will I have to wait for treatment?

The waiting time initially depends on the treatment indication and the patient's wishes. Treatment is generally available within 14 days, if required.

Who should refer me?

The General Practitioner or Consultant will usually refer patients. In the case of cancer, referrals are generally made following a decision taken by the Tumour Board through the treating oncologist or the General Practitioner. "Self referral" for a second opinion is also feasible. Speak to your medical insurance provider if need be.

Service. Zum Wohlfühlen.

Sie haben gerade viel um die Ohren; haben Ängste, machen sich Sorgen und würden gerne noch ganz viel von uns wissen?

Seien Sie beruhigt – bei uns sind Sie damit nicht allein – weder vor, während, noch nach der eigentlichen Behandlung. Wir sind zwar keine Wellnesseinrichtung, sondern ein medizinisches Hochleistungszentrum, doch legen wir neben der fachärztlichen Versorgung im besonderen Maße Wert auf Ihr Wohlbefinden. Das beginnt schon damit, dass es bei uns keine Wartezeiten gibt. Da es bei uns zum einen keine Akutbehandlungen gibt und sich zum anderen der zeitliche Ablauf einzelner Behandlungen gut voraussagen lässt, können wir mit Ihnen sehr genau Termine vereinbaren. So muss keiner warten.

Im Folgenden finden Sie bereits zahlreiche Antworten und Informationen zu häufig gestellten Fragen hinsichtlich Behandlung, Ablauf und vielem mehr. Für alle weiteren stehen wir Ihnen gerne persönlich zur Verfügung.

 

Fragen/Antworten (FAQ)

Was kostet die Behandlung?

Im privatärztlichen Bereich werden die Kosten der radiochirurgischen Behandlung nach der Gebührenordnung für Ärzte (GOÄ) berechnet und von privaten Krankenversicherungen auf dieser Basis erstattet.

Im Bereich der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung (GKV) besteht zwischen dem Gamma Knife Zentrum Krefeld und der DAK (Deutsche Angestellten - Krankenkasse) ein Vertrag der integrierten Versorgung (IV - Vertrag), wodurch Versicherten der DAK nun als erster Gruppe von gesetzlich Versicherten in Deutschland die Gamma Knife Radiochirurgie ohne zeitaufwändiges Antragsverfahren im Bedarfsfall zur Verfügung steht. Die TK (Techniker Krankenkasse) ist diesem Vertrag ebenfalls beigetreten, so dass nun auch ihren Versicherten die Gamma Knife Radiochirurgie im Bedarfsfall zur Verfügung steht. Mit der AOK Rheinland – Hamburg, der Schwenninger BKK und der Actimonda Krankenkasse bestehen Selektivverträge, so dass die Leistung im Einzelfall nicht mehr beantragt werden muss.

Bei anderen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungen besteht leider noch immer kein Anspruch auf Kostenerstattung im ambulanten Bereich. Obwohl die Radiochirurgie in Deutschland erfolgreich seit 1994 und weltweit seit den 1970er Jahren erbracht wird, ist eine Aufnahme der Radiochirurgie in den Leistungskatalog der GKV bis heute unterblieben. Daher müssen viele Patienten die Kostenübernahme für eine ambulante radiochirurgische Behandlung noch immer zunächst bei Ihrer Krankenversicherung beantragen. In den letzten Jahren wurde in tausenden Fällen eine Kostenübernahme im Rahmen von Einzelfallentscheidungen zugesagt.

Wir bieten Ihnen bei der Beantragung der Kostenübernahme Hilfestellungen an. Nach dem Beratungsgespräch und der Indikationsstellung erhalten Sie von uns einen Arztbrief mit einen Kostenvoranschlag. Dieses Dokument reichen Sie dann bitte selbst bei Ihrer Krankenversicherung ein. Sobald Sie von Seiten der Versicherung eine schriftliche Bestätigung erhalten haben, nehmen Sie wieder Kontakt mit uns auf, um einen Behandlungstermin zu vereinbaren. Im Falle einer Ablehnung raten wir Ihnen ebenfalls Kontakt mit uns aufzunehmen, um das weitere Vorgehen zu besprechen.

Ist die Behandlung auch stationär möglich?

Bei medizinischer Notwendigkeit besteht die Möglichkeit, die Behandlung auch stationär durchzuführen. Hierzu stehen uns Betten in der neurochirurgische Klinik der Helios Klinik Krefeld zu Verfügung.

Was sind die häufigsten Nebenwirkungen?

Das Auftreten von Nebenwirkungen ist sehr selten und stark abhängig vom behandelten Krankheitsbild, der Lokalisation des erkrankten Gewebes sowie der benötigten Bestrahlungsdosis. Aus diesem Grunde ist eine pauschale Aussage darüber nicht möglich. Im Vorgespräch wird selbstverständlich ausführlich auf mögliche Nebenwirkungen im individuellen Fall eingegangen.

Wie lange muss ich auf eine Behandlung warten?

Die Wartezeit ist in erster Linie abhängig von der Behandlungsindikation und dem Patientenwunsch. In der Regel ist eine Behandlung innerhalb von 14 Tagen möglich, falls erforderlich.

Wer muss mich überweisen?

Die Zuweisung soll über den Haus- oder Facharzt erfolgen. Bei onkologischen Erkrankungen erfolgt die Zuweisung in der Regel aufgrund eines Tumorboardbeschlusses durch den behandelnden Onkologen oder ebenfalls durch den Hausarzt. Aber auch die „Selbstzuweisung“ im Rahmen einer Zweitmeinung ist möglich, sprechen Sie ggf. hierüber mit Ihrer Krankenkasse.